Indiana Counties

Indiana counties are 92 in total and each county serves as the local level of government within its borders.

As of 2019, Indiana’s population was 6.732 million and the most populous county is Marion County with a population of 964,582. The least populous county is Ohio County with a population of 5,875.

The largest county in Indiana by area is Allen County which covers 657 square miles while the smallest county by area is Ohio County which covers 86 square miles.

Indiana Counties – List of Counties in Indiana (in Alphabetical Order)

CountyCounty SeatYear EstablishedPopulation (2019)
Adams CountyDecatur183635,777
Allen CountyFort Wayne1823379,299
Bartholomew CountyColumbus182183,779
Benton CountyFowler18408,748
Blackford CountyHartford City183812,013
Boone CountyLebanon183067,843
Brown CountyNashville183615,092
Carroll CountyDelphi182820,257
Cass CountyLogansport182837,689
Clark CountyJeffersonville1801118,302
Clay CountyBrazil182526,225
Clinton CountyFrankfort183032,399
Crawford CountyEnglish181810,569
Daviess CountyWashington181833,351
Dearborn CountyLawrenceburg180349,458
Decatur CountyGreensburg182126,559
DeKalb CountyAuburn183543,475
Delaware CountyMuncie1827114,135
Dubois CountyJasper181742,736
Elkhart CountyGoshen1830206,341
Fayette CountyConnersville181823,102
Floyd CountyNew Albany181978,522
Fountain CountyCovington182516,430
Franklin CountyBrookville181122,758
Fulton CountyRochester183620,096
Gibson CountyPrinceton181333,656
Grant CountyMarion183165,769
Greene CountyBloomfield182132,159
Hamilton CountyNoblesville1823338,011
Hancock CountyGreenfield182878,168
Harrison CountyCorydon180840,515
Hendricks CountyDanville1823170,311
Henry CountyNew Castle182147,972
Howard CountyKokomo184482,544
Huntington CountyHuntington183236,520
Jackson CountyBrownstown181644,231
Jasper CountyRensselaer183533,562
Jay CountyPortland183520,840
Jefferson CountyMadison181032,308
Jennings CountyVernon181627,735
Johnson CountyFranklin1823158,167
 Knox CountyVincennes179036,594
Kosciusko CountyWarsaw183579,456
LaGrange CountyLaGrange183239,193
Lake CountyCrown Point1837485,493
LaPorte CountyLaPorte1832109,888
Lawrence CountyBedford181845,370
Madison CountyAnderson1823129,569
Marion CountyIndianapolis1821964,582
Marshall CountyPlymouth183546,258
Martin CountyShoals182010,212
Miami CountyPeru183335,516
Monroe CountyBloomington1818148,431
Montgomery CountyCrawfordsville182238,338
Morgan CountyMartinsville182270,489
Newton CountyKentland185913,984
Noble CountyAlbion183547,744
Ohio CountyRising Sun18445,875
Orange CountyPaoli181619,545
Owen CountySpencer181820,799
Parke CountyRockville182116,937
Perry CountyTell City181419,102
Pike CountyPetersburg181612,389
Porter CountyValparaiso1835170,389
Posey CountyMount Vernon181425,427
Pulaski CountyWinamac183512,559
Putnam CountyGreencastle182137,576
Randolph CountyWinchester181824,926
Ripley CountyVersailles181628,391
Rush County     Rushville182116,641
St. Joseph CountySouth Bend1830271,826
Scott CountyScottsburg182023,873
Shelby CountyShelbyville182144,729
Spencer CountyRockport181820,447
Starke CountyKnox183522,952
Steuben CountyAngola183734,594
Sullivan CountySullivan181620,669
Switzerland County        Vevay181410,685
Tippecanoe CountyLafayette1826195,732
Tipton CountyTipton184415,162
Union CountyLiberty18217,054
Vanderburgh CountyEvansville1818181,451
Vermillion CountyNewport182415,498
Vigo CountyTerre Haute1818107,038
Wabash CountyWabash183330,996
Warren CountyWilliamsport18278,265
Warrick CountyBoonville181362,998
Washington CountySalem181328,036
Wayne CountyRichmond181065,884
Wells CountyBluffton183728,011
White CountyMonticello183424,149
Whitley CountyColumbia City183533,964
Indiana Counties

Top 10 Most Populous Counties in Indiana

1. Marion County  

Marion County, home of Indianapolis, is the most populous Indiana County which as of 2019 had an estimated population of 964,582.

It was April 1, 1822, and named for Francis Marion a military officer who served in the American Revolution war (1775-1783).  

2. Lake County  

As of 2019, Lake County’s population was 485,493, making it the second-most populous county in Indiana. Its county seat is Crown Point.

Lake County is part of Northwest Indiana and the Chicago Metropolitan Area as well as contains a mix of urban, suburban, and rural areas.

The county was established February 16, 1837 and named for Lake Michigan.

3. Allen County  

Allen County’s population was estimated to be 379,299 in 2019, making it the third-most populous Indiana County. Its county seat and largest city is Fort Wayne which is the second-largest city in Indiana.

Allen County was established April 1, 1824, and was named for John Allen a U.S. politician and army officer who was killed in the war of 1812.

4. Hamilton County  

Hamilton County was founded in 1823 and named for Alexander Hamilton, one of the founding fathers of the United States.

It is the fourth most populous county in Indiana with an estimated population of 338,011 and the second-most populous county in Central Indiana.

5. St. Joseph County  

This county is commonly known as St. Joe County. It is the fifth most populous county in Indiana with a population of 271,826 (as of 2019).

St. Joseph County was founded in 1830 and was named for the St. Joseph River which flows through it to Lake Michigan.  

6. Elkhart County   

Elkhart County’s population as of 2019 was 206,341, making it the sixth most populous county in the U.S. state of Indiana.

It is part of the Elkhart-Goshen Metropolitan Statistical Area. Its county seat is Goshen and its largest city is Elkhart.

7. Tippecanoe County  

This county is located in the west central part of Indiana approximately 22 miles east of the Illinois state line.

Tippecanoe County is the seventh most populous county in the U.S. state of Indiana with an estimated population of 195,732 inhabitants.

It was formed in 1826 and named for “Kethtippecanoogi” – a Miami people term which means a “place of the Succor Fish People”.

Its county seat and largest city is Lafayette.  

8. Vanderburgh County  

Vanderburgh County’s population as of 2019 was 181,451, making it the eighth most populous county in Indiana.

It was formed January 7, 1818 and named for Henry Vanderburgh an American military officer and jurist (1760 -1812).

Its county seat and largest city is Evansville.

9. Porter County  

Porter County was established on February 7, 1835, and was named for David Porter. It is the ninth most populous county in the U.S state of Indiana with an estimated population of 170,389.

Porter County is also part of Northwest Indiana and the Chicago Metropolitan area. Its county seat is Valparaiso while its largest city is Portage.

10. Hendricks County  

Hendricks County is the tenth most populous county in Indiana with a population of 170,311 (as of 2019). Its county seat is Danville and largest town Plainfield.

It was formed on the 20th of December 1823 and named for William Hendricks – a Democratic-Republican member of the House of Representatives (1816-1822), third governor of Indiana (1822-1825, and an Anti-Jacksonian member of the U.S. Senate ( 1825-1837).


The list above clearly shows the 92 Indiana Counties with the most populous being Marion County (with 964,582 inhabitants) and the least populous Ohio County (with 5,875 inhabitants).

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

About The Author